On Not Writing Book Reviews (aka Keeping Secrets)

It’s no secret that I’ve been absent from the blogosphere the past few months. Let me tell you how this all started.

I brought home dozens of books from BEA in May, and was so excited to get reading. I read several books during my travel days for that trip, and because BEA was incredibly exhausting for me, I felt entitled to a few days of rest from book blogging. That’s when the Books to Review list started getting long.

I also read a couple of books that I felt pretty neutral about. These were the ones I was okay with leaving off the blog – I’ve done it before too, always with a little accompanying guilt. Sometimes I just don’t have clear enough thoughts on a book to compose a well-thought-out review. But I thought, hey, I don’t HAVE to write anything. Who says I have to think of something to say about everything I read? So these books became my own little secret – little experiences I didn’t have to share with anyone if I didn’t want to. And I didn’t.

Then there are the books that don’t live up to the hype, but aren’t that bad either. In the end, I found lots of excuses to put off writing reviews, and with every book I finished, it just got harder to sit down and write.

So here’s what I intend to (finally) do about it:

  • Recap Posts – I’ve read enough books over the past few months that I have enough material for at least two recap posts on what I’ve been reading. My problem tends to be that I forget the details of the books I’ve read, so these will probably be shortened thoughts on the books rather than reviews.
  • 1 Recap DNF Post – sure, most of my DNFs lately have been because I didn’t feel like reading anything at all, and have no reflection on the books I’ve tried to read, but there are still a handful on my list that I’d like to share
  • Reviews! I’m reading Winter right now, and I fully intend to write a review of it. (And… Possibly host a giveaway! Stay tuned!)

I hope everyone’s been doing alright. I look forward to getting back into the swing of things here. I’m hoping now that I’ve made a plan and announced it, I’ll be able to hold myself to that plan.

Leave a Reply

