Dog Books: Adopt a Shelter Dog Month!

About a month ago, I adopted a shelter dog. She’s practically perfect. So when I heard that October is Adopt a Shelter Dog Month, I knew I had to wrangle together a dog-dedicated post. Surprisingly, there are not many fiction books that focus on dogs. Therefore, this list is a conglomerate of books about, featuring, or generally including dogs. If anyone knows of any other good books about dogs, please let me know!

Go, Dog. Go!
by P.D. Eastman

A children’s classic. My parents read this book to my brother a lot when he was little. Dogs in cars, dogs at parties, dogs in trees – this book has it all.

Martha Speaks
by Susan Meddaugh

I was obsessed with this book in kindergarten! I often quoted it to my classmates, who had no idea what I was talking about.

Underwater Dogs
by Seth Casteel

The title says it all – this is a series of portraits of dogs underwater. What’s not to love?

Menswear Dog Presents the New Classics
by David Fung and Yena Kim

Bodhi the Shiba Inu is such a dapper guy. He loves to dress his nicest and take pictures – it’s clear he’s one happy dog. I got to meet Bodhi this summer at BEA/BookCon and he is such a sweetie! Gave me lots of kisses!

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
by Mark Haddon

Christopher, the main character, is somewhere on the Autism Spectrum and is very interested in finding out who murdered the dog that lived down the street. This book is extremely gut-wrenching and not about dogs very much. But I promise, dogs are recurring figures in the plot!

Dogtology
by Jeff Lazarus

I’ll admit, I’ve only had the time to read the first few dozen pages of this one, but what I have read is cute and heartwarming. A short, light read.

What’s your favorite dog book? Let me know in the comments!

9 thoughts on “Dog Books: Adopt a Shelter Dog Month!

    1. Haha, no worries! I’ve read Marley & Me – but I didn’t include it because it’s definitely a downer, and bc it’s also kind of a cliche. It’s the sad dog book.

      Like

Leave a Reply

