Inbox: Week of April 20, 2015

Book Haul April 20

So this weekend was my neighborhood’s annual Library Book Sale, which accepts donations from the whole city all year long. The result is LOTS of books. And the general rule is that paperbacks are $1 and hardbacks are $2. The stack of books I scored, which was very heavy and difficult to carry I might add, came up to just over $14 when tax was added. I am very happy with my purchases. I found quite a few books that I’d been too cheap to wanting to buy for a long time. Here’s the list of titles:

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke

This is an absolute MONSTER of a book, and I’ve been intimidated enough by the size that I never really added it to my “books to buy” list. Well, now with school almost over, I might just make this book my summer project. (Looks like I will have a lot of those)

The Girl in the Road by Monica Byrne

Well to be honest, I already have this book in paperback and haven’t read it yet, but this hardback is so beautiful I couldn’t resist.

The Diviners by Libba Bray

Never bought this one because I’m cheap, simple as that. But I’ve heard great things about it and am seriously excited.

An Object of Beauty by Steve Martin

I remember seeing this title around EVERYWHERE when it first came out. I picked it up and read the jacket writeup a few times, but didn’t want to pay the full price. And I was always skeptical because… Steve Martin writes novels now??

The Painter by Peter Heller

Possibly my favorite purchase of the day. I really liked Dog Stars by Peter Heller, and have had heart eyes for this one since it came out.

Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

I wrote about this one for Goodreads Monday earlier this year, check out why.

Bossypants by Tina Fey

because who doesn’t love Tina Fey? Also, see all points above about money.

One thought on “Inbox: Week of April 20, 2015

Leave a Reply

