Goodreads Monday: Soulless

goodreads monday title image

Goodreads Monday is a meme which used to be hosted over on Forever Reading, that honors those books that we thought sounded good, but we never actually got around to reading them.

Soulless book coverTitle: Soulless
Author: Gail Carriger
Date Published: October 1, 2009
Date Added: November 20. 2012
Synopsis:
Alexia Tarabotti is laboring under a great many social tribulations.

First, she has no soul. Second, she’s a spinster whose father is both Italian and dead. Third, she was rudely attacked by a vampire, breaking all standards of social etiquette.

Where to go from there? From bad to worse apparently, for Alexia accidentally kills the vampire–and then the appalling Lord Maccon (loud, messy, gorgeous, and werewolf) is sent by Queen Victoria to investigate.

With unexpected vampires appearing and expected vampires disappearing, everyone seems to believe Alexia responsible. Can she figure out what is actually happening to London’s high society? Will her soulless ability to negate supernatural powers prove useful or just plain embarrassing? Finally, who is the real enemy, and do they have treacle tart?

Reason Added:
When I found out about this one, I was so hyped. It really sounds like my sort of thing – paranormal crime solving? Protagonist without a soul? Yep. Let’s do this. A couple of things make me wary though: that this is the beginning of a rather extensive series, and that some of the readers have commented on its rather raunchy nature. Now that I think of it, those aren’t really reason enough to write this book off. I want to try something steampunk-esque, so I think this may pop up on my wishlist in the near future. I almost bought Soulless at BookPeople a couple of weeks ago (and good thing I didn’t because I was way over my books budget already). Maybe I’ll see if the library has a copy and go from there. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: Soulless

  1. I feel this is one of the such a lot vital info for me.
    And i’m happy reading your article. However should statement
    on few basic issues, The website taste is wonderful, the articles is truly great : D.

    Good job, cheers

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

