Goodreads Monday: Mrs. Dalloway

Goodreads Monday is a meme hosted over on Forever Reading that honors those books that we thought sounded good, but we never actually got around to reading them.

Mrs Dalloway book cover

Title: Mrs Dalloway
Author: Virginia Woolf
Publication Date: 1925
Added to my shelf: Nov 30, 2012
Synopsis:
In this vivid portrait of one day in a woman’s life, Clarissa Dalloway is preoccupied with the last-minute details of party preparation while in her mind she is much more than a perfect society hostess. As she readies her house, she is flooded with far-away remembrances. And, met with the realities of the present, Clarissa reexamines the choices she has made, hesitantly looking ahead to growing old. Undeniably triumphant, this is the inspired novelistic outline of human consciousness.

Created from two short stories, “Mrs Dalloway in Bond Street” and the unfinished “The Prime Minister,” the novel addresses Clarissa’s preparations for a party she will host that evening. With an interior perspective, the story travels forwards and back in time and in and out of the characters’ minds to construct an image of Clarissa’s life and of the inter-war social structure. In October 2005, Mrs. Dalloway was included on TIME magazine’s list of the 100 best English-language novels written since 1923.

Reason Added:
This is a book I added before I’d read anything else by Virginia Woolf. It seems like a good start, no? Well now I’ve read some of her essays and To the Lighthouse and I feel like I have a basic grasp of her writing style. I never got around to reading this because reading To the Lighthouse was an incredible stream-of-consciousness experience, but I haven’t had the time or energy to devote myself to Woolf’s prose in a way that this book deserves. Mrs Dalloway deserves my full attention, and I know I won’t be reading it until I am able to give it proper focus and priority. (But after writing this, it may be sooner than I thought :P)

4 thoughts on “Goodreads Monday: Mrs. Dalloway

  1. First: awesome blog title

    Second: this is my personal favorite by Woolf (aside from her journals, which you should definitely read. Good first go at Woolf!

    Third: If you’re ever in need of a great book review or musing, be sure to follow! Thanks!!!

    Like

    1. Orlando is up there on my to be read list as well, considering how much praise my professors have for it.
      Book Guy, you left your parentheses hanging so I’m gonna go ahead and close them for you).

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

