Happy Book Giving Day!

Did you know that today is International Book Giving Day? I sure didn’t until this morning. I’m glad to have something to celebrate on Valentine’s Day besides romantic love. Love of books is just as important. 🙂

The Book Giving Day website offers these core facts:
  • Most children in developing countries do not own books.
  • In the United Kingdom, one-third of children do not own books.
  • In the United States, two-thirds of children living in poverty do not own books.
I cannot even imagine what my life would be without access to books as a kid. Luckily for me, our elementary school library programs were very inspiring and helpful – we even got a few authors to come and speak to us, if I remember correctly.
 
bookgivingday.com includes a list of nonprofit organizations that are relevant to the cause, and encourage readers to donate books in whatever way they can! The website has bookmarks, bookplates, and posters to promote the cause, many of which are printable for free.
 
According to their website, the three best ways to participate in Book Giving Day are: 
 
  1. Give a Book to a Friend or Relative
  2. Leave a Book in a Waiting Room or Lobby
  3. Donate a Book
After you’ve done that, head back to their website and add your name to the list of participants!
I love this idea in general. Although I don’t have time to participate this year, I plan to in 2016. As an event that gives kids access to books and strengthens the literary community, this one has my support.

The Fault in Our Blogs

Leave a Reply

