Book Crushes: Gorgeous Editions and Covers

It’s almost Valentine’s Day, but you probably already know that. This post is going to be about book cover art and certain editions that I’m totally crushing on because they’re so beautiful.

Even if you haven’t heard of Coralie Bickford-Smith, you’ve probably seen pictures of her book covers on instagram or other media sites. Her simply styled covers for Penguin Books have a very distinct flair to them, and they’re popular among book lovers. In addition, the paperback copies have a satin-y matte finish that is soft to the touch.

I also have major heart eyes for her F. Scott Fitzgerald collection, which exudes a luxurious 20’s vibe.



Next up I want to show some of Risa Rodil’s book cover redesigns. As far as I know, none of these has actually been printed on their books and sold, but her designs are so stunning, and they have gotten attention from some of the books authors, which is cool.

I’m a  huge fan of this one because it utilizes the original cover’s color scheme.
I’m a very visual person, so covers of the editions I read always stick with me.
The colors for this vibrant limited edition set of the Hunger Games trilogy stand out to take a ‘rebel’ stance, and I personally think they’re so much better than the covers of the originals issued by scholastic. The jumbles of letters reflect the dystopian setting of the series as well.
Louise Osborne’s redesign of S.E. Hinton’s The Outsiders is a fun, modern take on a classic:
I already have a copy of The Outsiders, but I would buy this one to put alongside it.
It’s so pretty.
Now for a cover remake that would actually make me want to purchase a book I’m reluctant to read for a few reasons, but the standard paperback covers are not very encouraging to look at. It’s part of a collection for HarperCollins by Clare Skeats.
Elegant. THIS looks like I book I would pick up at the store.
Now for something a little more classic, before the grand finale.
A book with a distinctive original print cover that has recently made a comeback, The Catcher in the Rye and its cover, designed by a personal friend of the author, prominently features a carousel horse on its front, brought to life by the blazing and angsty red coloring. The cover has become rather iconic and well recognized. The city skyline in the background looks so small compared to the cover’s main feature.
Last, and my personal obsession at the moment, is the special edition print of Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell. Here’s the original cover, which is great.
[images from No BS Book Reviews]
Now hold onto your seats because here comes the UK special edition in all of its beautiful glory.
Pink embossing. Gorgeous color. Printing on the page edges. A built in ribbon bookmark. And the jacket folds out into an Emergency Dance Party featuring Levi and Cath rocking out.
I seriously regret not putting this in my basket while it was in stock on the Book Depository website. Another Special Edition is going to be released in May, and will feature an excerpt from Rowell’s upcoming novel Carry On, which is a major component of the plot in Fangirl. Carry On is currently scheduled to come out in October. But this other special edition of Fangirl is not quite the same, an irritating detail that I’m trying to get over. I already have an original cover hardcopy on my shelves, but I am more than eager to get my hands on one of these gorgeous editions.
That’s all for today! Check my sidebar for subscribe links! And let me know in the comments if you have any favorites that I didn’t mention. 🙂



The Fault in Our Blogs

2 thoughts on “Book Crushes: Gorgeous Editions and Covers

  1. Thank you for sharing these. Lately I’ve found myself spending more time considering which editions to buy of books because there are some pretty awesome ones out there. The new UK edition of Harry Potter (adult) is amazing and I’m honestly thinking of buying it even though I already own the whole series.

    Like

Leave a Reply

